Steve Reich

  • Born 1936 in New York, USA.
  • Based in New York, USA.

Steve Reich studied music at the Juilliard School and Mills College under artists like Darius Milhaud and Luciano Berio. Earlier he graduated from Cornell University, where he studied the philosophy of Ludwig Wittgenstein. In 1965 and 1966 respectively, Reich released the tape music pieces It’s Gonna Rain and Come Out. In 1966, he formed his ensemble “Steve Reich and Musicians” with which he has performed all over the world. 1991 marked his first visit to Japan, with concerts held in Tokyo and Osaka. In 1997, together with video artist Beryl Korot, Reich created the multimedia opera The Cave about the complex relationship between Judaism, Christianity and Islam. The piece was also performed in Tokyo. An exceptional contemporary composer, Reich continues to inspire and stimulate a wide range of art beyond the confines of music.

Focusing on Double Sextet and Different Trains, Aichi Triennale 2022 will shine a new light on Reich’s masterpieces, whose deep connections reach from ancient medieval music to visual and conceptual art of the present. The concert, performed by an ensemble of talented musicians who revere Reich’s work, will offer the audience a perfect experience of Reich’s musicality and contemporarity.

*Mr. Steve Reich will not be coming to Japan.

Selected Works & Awards
Pulitzer Prize for Music for Double Sextet, USA
18th Praemium Imperiale Arts Award for Music, Japan
Grammy Award for Best Classical Contemporary Composition for Different Trains, Grammy Awards, USA


Steve Reich - Special Concert


  • Photo: Jeffrey Herman
Sat, Jul 30, 19:00
Sun, Jul 31, 15:00
120 min.
Adults ¥4,500
U25 ¥3,000

・Door tickets for adults, and U25 cost an additional ¥500.

Children below school age are not permitted.
Nagoya City Performing Arts Center
  • 3 minutes on foot from Shin Sakae Machi Station on the Higashiyama Subway Line.
  • 5 minutes on foot from Takaoka Station on the Sakuradori Subway Line.
Performance brochure
Available after the performance
Piano Phase(1967)
Vermont Counterpoint(1982)
Different Trains(1988)
Electric Counterpoint(1987)
Double Sextet(2007)
Nakagawa Ken’ichi (Piano)
Wakabayashi Kaori (Flute)*
Ishigami Mayuko (Violin)*
Shimada Machiko (Violin)
Wasada Rui (Viola)
Fukutomi Shoko (Cello)*
Yamada Gaku (Electric guitar)
Ueda Nozomi (Clarinet)*
Hatanaka Asuka (Vibraphone)*
Arima Sumihisa (Electronics)

*= Ensemble Kujoyama

Steve Reich
Nagoya City Performing Arts Center

Related Information